The Corn Snakes Forum
Welcome to The Corn Snakes Forum

Part of The Corn Snakes Site

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Heat Mat Safety
PostPosted: Thu 14th January 2010, 5:00 pm 
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

Hi, I went to my local snake and reptile dealer today to get a new heat mat, he advised me to use a heat lamp instead has there have  been problems with heat mats setting on fire, or even electrocuting a snake if they got wet, has any member of this forum ever experience these problems and are there any safe guards against this type of thing happening, please advise i am a newbie and i would'nt want to do my cornsnake any harm. Thanks Steve

Post subject: Re: Heat Mat Safety
PostPosted: Thu 14th January 2010, 5:28 pm 
Regular Poster
Regular Poster

I do not know from experience, but here's my take on it....

The heat mat is an electrical device.  If improperly used, could over heat.  Being the electronics major I was back in college, I do not see how it could kill your snake through electrocution.  I'm sure there are more high powered models, but I have the ZooMed for a 20 gallon tank and it's only 8 watts.  I have not hooked anything up that has given me the amps it's consuming, but I'd imagine they are rather low.  Maybe it could kill a snake, but there would have to be direct contact from the crack in the viv to the hole in the mat.  Water, of course, could create this direct contact though.

Reading online, I have seen people attach the UTH to a tile and place that under their tank.  I believe it's an unnecessary precaution because you'll just have to turn the current higher to get the desired temp in the viv.  

The determining factors would come down to if the mat has ever been moved (this could cause instability in the mats protective outside) and the condition of the viv.  

Now hopefully someone who is experienced will chime in.

PostPosted: Thu 14th January 2010, 6:52 pm 
Site Admin
Site Admin